Hamilton Top Attractions
Special Note: Doors Open Hamilton
Once a year, ALL Hamilton Civic Museums, celebrate the City's rich history and give you an opportunity to explore its architectural gems and undiscovered treasures. The first weekend in May, admission (egular hours of operation apply) for all ages is FREE at these musuems:
Here are the most popular "must-see" attractions in the Hamilton area (in alphabetical order):
African Lion Safari
RR 1 Stn Galt
Cambridge, ON N1R 5S2
519-623-2620 Toll Free: 1-800-461-WILD
Canada's Original Safari Adventure! This wildlife park is home to over 1,000 exotic birds and animals that roam freely in large, drive-through game reserves. Enjoy live animal shows, nature tours, elephant swim and Misumu Bay Wet Play. Open Daily early May to early October.
Architectural Conservancy of Ontario
The Hamilton Region Branch of the Architectural Conservancy of Ontario is a charitable group that organizes an annual series of walking tours and exhibitions exploring the fascinating history and architecture of Hamilton and region. Active since 1933, the ACO is the oldest provincial society dedicated to the conservation of our architectural heritage. Exhibits and tours are held at a variety of venues from time to t time
Oak Knoll Park off Oak Knoll Dr,
End of Dalewood, north of Main Street in Westdale
The Aviary holds a mixed ollection of exotic birds from tropical and sub-tropical regions. These include large parrots, smaller parrots and parakeets (including common pet species, as well as rarer and more exotic), many species of finches and doves. At present we are not equipped to handle softbills or waterfowl in any numbers, nor do we house birds of prey. Outdoor flights for public viewing: 8a.m. - 8p.m., May 24 to mid-Oct.; Indoor flights: Sundays, 1p.m. - 4p.m., or by appointment
Battlefield House & Park National Historic Site
77 King Street West
Stoney Creek, ON L8G 1H9
Discover this National Historic Site where in 1813 the Gage family was held captive as the Battle of Stoney Creek raged around them. Guided by costumed interpreters, explore the homestead and climb to the observation deck of the Battlefield Monument for a spectacular view of Lake Ontario and Niagara Escarpment. The monument was built where the American forces had placed their cannons and where the heaviest action took place during the battle and was unveiled on the centennial of the Battle of Stoney Creek, June 6, 1913. Open June 15 to Labour Day Tuesday to Sunday - 11:00AM to 4:00PM; Labour Day to June 14 Tuesday to Sunday - 1:00PM to 4:00PM; Closed Good Friday, Christmas, Boxing Day. Admission.
Bell Homestead National Historic Site
94 Tutela Heights
Brantford, ON N3T 1A1
The Bell Homestead provided the setting for the invention of the telephone in 1874. The Bell family sold the farm in 1881, and in 1909, the house and surrounding lands were bought for the City of Brantford. Since then many original Bell family furnishings and household items have been added to recreate the home's 1870s appearance.
Bertrand Russell Archives, McMaster University
McMaster University Library
1280 Main St. W.,
Hamilton , ON,, L8S 4L6
(905) 525-9140 ext. 22079, 22789 Fax: (905) 546-0625
The philosopher, mathematician and peace activist, Bertrand Russell (1872-1970), was one of the most important thinkers of the twentieth century. The Archives contain a full record of his life and activities, including correspondence with people as diverse as Einstein and John Lennon.
Canada Marine Discovery Centre
57 Guise E, Pier 8
Hamilton , ON
The Centre contains interactive exhibits in three galleries and a 65 seat theatre. The Canada Marine Discovery Centre provides visitors with opportunities to explore Canada's rich marine heritage from Hamilton Harbour to the ocean depths! Interactive exhibits at a waterfront setting, provide songs, stories and demonstrations. Listen to the sounds of an Atlantic gale, walk through a west coast kelp forest, or take a virtual voyage on a Great Lakes freighter. The Hamilton Waterfront Trail runs around the perimeter of the site joining up with HMCS Haida National Historic Site and the Waterfront Trail System. Trails provides opportunities for walking, biking and rollerblading. Open Year-round: From May 20th to September 7th , 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.; From September 8th to May 20th , 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission: Adult $7.15, Senior $5.90, Youth $3.45, Family/Group $17.80. Dual Entry Pass to HMCS Haida and Canada Marine Discovery Centre. Admission.
Canadian Football Hall of Fame
58 Jackson Street West
Hamilton , ON L8P 1L4
Historical football exhibits profile the great players and builders of the game, and see the permanent home of the Grey Cup Trophy and Canadian Bow. Come try our virtual field goal kick and leg press. Visit the gift shop and purchase a souvenir of your visit. Educational programs available upon request.
Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum
9280 Airport Rd
Mount Hope, ON L0R 1W0
"Canada's Flying Museum" restores and displays aircraft from WWII planes to jets. Over 40 Aircraft including the only operational Avro Lancaster in North America are displayed. Aircraft fly (in season). See aircraft restorations in progress. Interactive exhibits, restaurants, gift shop and vintage aircraft rides. Free admission
Cathedral of Christ the King
714 King Street W,
Hamilton , ON L8P 1C7
905-522-5744 Fax 905-528-0377
A truly distinctive Gothic architectural landmark, the Cathedral of Christ the King is the mother Church of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Hamilton . It was built 1931-1933, incorporating exquisite Italian marble and 82 stained-glass windows made in Munich, Germany and the organ is handmade in Bavaria from Mahogany & Oak. The Cathedral, alongside Highway 403, dominates the western entrance to the City of Hamilton . The building is 235 feet in length and 72 feet wide, and the steeple rises 165 feet from ground to top of the cross, and the carillon has 23 bells, weighing 64,000 pounds. The cathedral's limestone was quarried in Indiana and Georgetown, Ontario and t he Stations of the Cross were sculptured from a single block of Cararra marble; the kind used by Michelangelo for the Pieta., Guided tours and/or organ recital are available for a nominal group fee.
Christ's Church Cathedral
252 James Street North
parking lot between Robert and Barton Street.
Hamilton , ON 8R 2L3
http://www.niagara.anglican.ca firstname.lastname@example.org--> The Cathedral, the mother church of the Anglican diocese of Niagara, dates from 1835. The carved west doors open into a decorated gothic Cathedral with magnificent stained glass windows. Walking distance from downtown, the Cathedral is also a centre for the arts and music.
Dundurn Castle National Historic Site & Coach House Restaurant
610 York Blvd
Hamilton , ON, L8R 5H1
(905) 546-2872 Fax: (905) 546-2875
Dundurn Castle is a National Historic site that illustrates the life and times of Sir Allan Napier MacNab (1798 - 1862) and has been restored to the year 1855 when MacNab was at the height of his career as a lawyer, landowner, railway magnate and Premier of the United Canadas (1845-56). Dundurn (Gaelic for "fort on the water") is s fashionable Regency style villa, but was nicknamed "Castle" by the citizens of Hamilton . Today, Dundurn Castle Over forty rooms have been furnished to compare the life of a prominent Victorian family with that of their servants., MacNab, born in Niagara-on-the-Lake, began his career as a lawyer., He was declared a "Boy Hero" for his role in the War of 1812, supported the royalist cause in the Upper Canada Rebellion of 1837 for which he was knighted by Queen Victoria, and went on to help to establish the railway, the first bank, and represent the area for thirty years in Parliament. Costumed staff guide visitors through the home, illustrating daily life from the 1850s. The Victorian-styled restaurant is housed in the 1870's coach house, and the upstairs Hayloft provides seating, for up to 100 guests. Open Victoria Day to Labour Day Daily. Admission. Available for wedding photos bookings.
Dundas Historical Society Museum
139 Park St. West
Dundas, ON L9H 1X8
905-627-7412 Fax 905. 627.4872
Now in its 50th, year, visitors can learn about Dundas's past, including Native settlement, United Empire Loyalist settlers the Dundas Valley and the generations that followed. Enjoy their stories through the museum's exhibits and life-like vignettes. Open Monday to Friday (Closed statutory holidays-except July 1) Evening group tours may be arranged. Admission is free or by donation.
Erland Lee Home (Museum)
552 Ridge Road
Stoney Creek, ON L8J 2Y6
A National Historic Site of Canada, the home of one of Stoney Creek's prominent 19th century families was the 1897 birthplace of the world's first rural women's organization, The Women's Institute. House, carriage house and gardens open. The main building was first built in1808 by John Lee, son of a British ex-serviceman who emigrated to here as Loyalists, in the aftermath of the American Revolution. Original furnishings and exhibits on Stoney Creek history and Women's Institute history. The museum's display of 1910 era, Stoney Creek with 1:87, (HO) scale models of the Hamilton , Grimsby, and Beamsville Electric Railway in West Saltfleet and the Red Hill Creek, Old Stoney Creek, Fruitland, and Winona, with over 30 buildings. Special events year round, bus parking, gift shop, picnic area. Open April through December.
Fieldcote Memorial Park & Museum
64 Sulphur Springs Road
Ancaster, ON L9G 1L8
This historic Tudor-style home set amidst 7 acres of woodland and gardens, serves as Ancaster's Cultural Centre promoting local history, fine art and culture through rotating exhibits, archives and programs. The Griffin House tells the fascinating story of early freedom seekers on the Underground Railway from American slave states. Visitors will enjoy beautiful, award-winning gardens and a summer performing art series, "Music at Fieldcote", presented in the newly constructed bandshell. Exhibit and archives are open year-round Wed-Fri & Sun afternoons. Admission.
Flamborough Heritage Society & Archives 163 Dundas Street East
Waterdown, Ontario L0R 2H0
Over 12 walking tours. Brochures are available for visitors to learn about Flamborough's heritage, together with history books and historical exhibitions. Information is available for people researching Flamborough's heritage and history. Free parking.
Griffin House, The
733 Mineral Springs Rd.
(905) 546-2424 x3967
The Griffin House stands today as a testament to the bravery and determination of black men and women who journeyed to freedom in Southern Ontario. This unique historic site is situated is a simple clapboard house atop a hill overlooking the Dundas Valley. Born into slavery in Virginia, Enerals Griffin escaped to freedom and settled here. His home, now a museum, is an important cultural landmark and a member of the Black Heritage Network., The house and property are owned and operated by the Hamilton Region Conservation Authority. Public visitation and interpretation is offered by Fieldcote Memorial Park and Museum. Admission.
Hamilton Military Museum
610 York Blvd. (map)
Hamilton , Ontario, L8R 3H1
Discover Canadian military history with exhibits of uniforms, weapons and lifestyle from the War of 1812 to World War I. Features include a reconstruction WWI trench, a medals display and special presentations in the rotating gallery. Open year-round. Admission.
Hamilton Museum of Steam and Technology
900 Woodward Avenue, at the QEW
Hamilton , ON L8H 7N2
Be amazed by the technology which made city life possible 140 years ago. This National Historic Site preserves two magnificent Canadian-made 70-ton steam engines which powered Hamilton 's first municipal waterworks over 140 years ago. One engine is in operation every day. Watch for special events and Live Steamer days. Open year-round. Admission.
Hamilton Children's Museum
1072 Main St. East at Gage Park (map)
Hamilton , Ontario, L8M 1N6
Phone: (905) 546-4848
Open year-round. Admission.
Hamilton Port Authority
605 James St North,
corner of Burlington Street East and James Street North
Hamilton , ON, L8L 1K1
905-525-4330 or 1-800-263-2131 fax: 905-528-6554
Hamilton Port Days celebrate the Port at the end of June each year! Showcasing the Port of Hamilton for its commercial, recreational and environmental impact on the city. Family fun, learning, contests, giveaways, displays & demonstrations. Free Admission. For information about the Port & Piers.
Ireland House Museum
2168 Guelph Line
Burlington, ON L7P 5A8
Built between 1835-1837 Ireland House was the home of Joseph Ireland, one of Burlington's earliest settlers. He emigrated from Bowes, Yorkshire, England in 1819 and petitioned for land at Oakridge Farm. Ireland House was occupied by Joseph and his descendants up until 1985. In 1987 the City of Burlington purchased the property from the estate of Marie Ireland Bush. The homestead has since been restored to illustrate 3 distinct time periods, representing the generations of Irelands who lived in the house. Ninety percent of the furnishings are original to the Ireland family. The property consists of 3.68 acres of woodland, gardens, and picnic areas. Admission.
Joseph Brant Museum
1240 North Shore Boulevard East
Burlington, ON L7S 1C5
The Joseph Brant Museum is housed in a replica of the house built by Joseph Brant, Thayendanegea, the prominent Mohawk leader and Loyalist who moved to the head of Lake Ontario in the early 19th century. In 1798 the Mohawk leader was granted 3,40 acres on Burlington Bay by King George III for his services to the Crown during the Seven Years War and the American Revolution. The Museum exhibits artifacts that relate to the story of Joseph Brant, Burlington's history as a community and the Eileen Collard Gallery of Historic Costumes and Textiles collection, Ontario's 2nd largest collection of historic clothing. The museum was built in 1937/38 and opened its doors in June, 1942 as a one-room exhibit gallery. Today the museum has more than 2,200 square feet of exhibit space and houses more than 10,000 artifacts. Joseph Brant Museum and Ireland House at Oakridge Farm offer tours and hold a variety of special events during the year which celebrate our heritage. Admission.
HMCS Haida National Historic Site of Canada
658 Catharine N
Hamilton , ON L8L 4V7
A one of a kind experience - HMCS HAIDA is Canada's most famous warship and the last remaining example of the 27 Tribal Class destroyers, which served in Canada's Navy between 1943 and 1963, This famous ship saw service in WWII,, the Korean War and the Cuban Missile Crisis. Walk the decks and climb the ladders of history as you explore Hamilton's newest historic site. Haida was on display at Ontario Place in Toronto from 1971 to 1984, and arrived at Pier 9 in Hamilton Harbour in 2003, the 60th anniversary of her commissioning. Open Seasonally. Admission.
360 James Street North
Hamilton , Ontario
905-525-2410 1 866 525-2410
Liuna Station is a newly restored CN train station and designated heritage site, in the heart of downtown Hamilton . Incredible Art Deco statues and paintings, Italian marble floors and ornate ceilings offer just a taste of the extraordinary detail that makes LIUNA Station unique. Now, converted into ballrooms and conference rooms which can accommodate 25 to 700 people for weddings, banquets and conventions. Tours by appointment.
526 Winona Road North
Just west of 50 Rd Exit from QEW
Stoney Creek, Ontario
905 643-3117 or 1 866 331-3875
Liuna Gardens' flowers and lawns spill onto the shores of Lake Ontario creating extraordinary scenes. Twelve acres of manicured and landscaped gardens overflow with vibrant flowers, the perfect natural backdrop for photographs. Facility can be booked for weddings, banquets and conventions. Tours by appointment.
Westfield Heritage Village
1049 Kirkwall Rd
Hwy. #8 NW past Dundas, past Hwy. #5 and North on Regional Road 552
519-621-8851 Toll Free: 1-800-883-0104
Step back in time to a fascinating living history country village. Over 30 historic buildings surrounded by 324 acres of unspoiled natural woodlands and meadows with several well marked nature trails and a rare T.H. & B. Steam Locomotive. Features include blacksmithing, period fashion shows, schoolhouse, log homes, and native settlement. Free parking, unique gift shop, trails, picnic area and refreshments available. Open Sundays and holidays until October. Admission.
Whitehern Historic House & Gardens, National Historic Site
41 Jackson St. West, Hamilton , ON L8P 1L3
(905) 546-2018 Fax: (905) 546-4933
Whitehern Historic House & Garden, a was the former home of three generations of the McQuesten Family (1852-1968) of Hamilton , Ontario. Prominent walled terraced garden, this is an outstanding example of an urban estate originally owned by a wealthy industrialist. Today, Whitehern depicts 1939 when a bygone era would soon disappear forever. Outstanding family contributions include: the establishment of 'McQuesten & Co.', the first iron foundry in Hamilton (later known as 'Sawyer-Massey Co.'); the development of the Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG), the Queen Elizabeth Way (QEW), the Rainbow Bridge (in Niagara Falls); the establishment of McMaster University in Hamilton ; the restorations of Old Fort Henry, Joseph Brant Museum and Fort George; and participation in the development of the Niagara Parks. Open: mid-June 15 to Labour Day. Admission. Free parking on Sundays at City Hall.
William J. McCallion Planetarium
McMaster University, Department of Physics and Astronomy
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton , Ontario
Department of Physics and Astronomy is in the Arthur Bourns Building (ABB) in the southwestern corner of the McMaster University campus.
(905) 525-9140 ext. 27777 Fax: (905) 546-1252
The Planetarium (named after William J. McCallion, in recognition of his central role in the development of the planetarium at McMaster) educates audiences about the earth, the solar system and the universe. Shows are geared to the age or nature of the audience, emphasizing constellations, visible planets and slides of the solar system extending to external galaxies. In 1949, the William J. McCallion Planetarium was the first planetarium in Ontario to offer shows to the public, and in the early days hung a war-surplus parachute from the ceiling as a planetarium dome. In 1954, the planetarium moved to a custom-designed room in what is now called the Burke Science Building. The original projector was donated to Mount Allison University and replaced first in 1961 and again in 1992. There are 14 public shows a year, running every other Wednesday during the McMaster school year (September - April). Admission.